OARS Celebrates Women’s History Month

During Women’s History Month, the Office of Academic and Research Safety proudly celebrates the remarkable contributions of women in science, honoring pioneers such as Lisa Meitner, whose groundbreaking work in nuclear physics laid the foundation for modern atomic theory. We also recognize the trailblazing achievements of May Edward Chinn, a pioneering physician, and advocate for public health equity. Grace Hopper’s innovations in computer science, Dorothy Hodgkins’ advancements in crystallography, and Chien-Shiung Wu’s pivotal role in nuclear physics underscore the invaluable contributions of women in STEM fields. Additionally, we acknowledge Rosalind Franklin’s pivotal role in unraveling the structure of DNA, Jane Goodall’s groundbreaking research in primatology, Francoise Barré-Sinoussi’s discovery of the HIV virus, and Patricia S. Cowings’ groundbreaking work in space psychology. Finally, we highlight Kiara Nirghin’s innovative solutions in agricultural science, exemplifying the continued impact of women in shaping the future of research and safety.